Some people thin that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Should the price of fuel be increased to curb air pollution in cities? In my opinion, although I understand how this could be effective to an extent, I do not believe this would be an appropriate or a suitable solution for the problem at hand.

To begin with, increasing the fuel prices would definitely impact the number of vehicles on the road at a particular time, leading to lesser emissions. As it could get too expensive for the lower-economic group to continuously be driving their vehicles, prompting them to consider other means of transport, including but not limited to public transport. For instance, family and friends may decide to ride together and divide the incurred fuel costs. Further, it would also cause people to reconsider using their vehicles for short distances, and saving that money instead. For example, people might choose to walk to their destinations rather than driving there. Not only would this lead to lowered emissions, but also provide overall health benefits.

However, there are downsides as well to such a suggestion. Firstly, the wealthy would remain unaffected, as for them this would just be a minor hinderance, and nothing more. It would be unfair to the majority of the population, which is made up mostly by the working and middle class. On top of that, If effective transport alternatives, such as an efficient public transport system are not put into place along with such a change, people are bound to revert back to using their vehicles. In an era, where time is considered money, the general public would rather spend more on fuel, than to waste time traveling using other slower and inconvenient methods.

A price hike can not be considered an actual solution, but rather something that temporarily subsides the effects of a much bigger problem. Moreover, Increasing prices will only slow down the process, not help solve the problem of air pollution or global warming. There are significantly better alternatives, such as renewable fuels, which if given appropriate time and effort, would lead to better results.

In conclusion, although increasing the cost of fuel might seem like a straightforward solution, there would be plenty of downsides along with it, which would make it a suggestion to be considered carefully before being possibly implemented.