Some people thin that the best way to solve the problem of air pollution in cities is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. Others think that different measures should be taken. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The problem of air pollution is one that poses a serious threat to ecological systems across the globe, scientists and world leaders are rushing to bring about a solution for the same. One major answer to this problem is to increase the cost of vehicle fuel. In my opinion, this arrangement has the potential to make a lasting impact, but only when executed properly as there are both advantages and disadvantages for the same.

If the cost of fuel is raised, it will encourage citizens to stop the unnecessary use of vehicles for travelling shorter distances that can be covered by walking or by the use of bicycles, this also has the benefit of improved cardiovascular health as both, walking and cycling are great exercises. With an increase in fuel prices, people with the same destination like employees of the same firm and teachers/students of the same school will lean more towards carpooling to cut down on transportation costs. With the introduction of this arrangement, more people will opt for public transportation systems like metros and busses. Lastly, fewer cars on the road will reduce commute times due to less traffic on the road.

This solution does not come without its own disadvantages. Unaffluent individuals may find it difficult to cope with the increased cost of using their vehicles. If not managed properly, increasing the price of fuel will lead to a sudden influx of people opting for public transport, which the system may not be capable of handling. Furthermore, higher operating costs, by virtue of more expensive fuel, paired with this sudden overload on the system will lead to an administrative disaster. Therefore, certain countermeasures must be put in place, like improved capacity for metro stations and more active busses running at the same time.

In conclusion, I believe that increasing the cost of fuel has the potential to massively cut down on air pollution via reduced carbon emissions, but only if done in a pragmatic manner with careful consideration of the subsequent impact on the various other systems of transport.