Some people think adults should learn practical skills by themselves, while others believe that learning from a teacher in a classroom is better. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people are of the opinion that adults can learn practical competencies autonomously. In contrast, others suggest that formal instruction in a classroom setting will be essential for learners. Although both views hold merit, I agree more with the latter perspectives.

On the one hand, there are some reasons that explain why some people believe that pursuing practical skills autonomously is often commendable. The first reason is that this learning methods may boost critical thinking and personal independence. It goes without saying that this mode of learning compels adults to identify their weakness, and find some information related to their subjects independently, thereby strengthening critical thinking and perseverance. As a result, this active engagement shores up student’s ability and builds profound self-confidence, which is invaluable in today job’s market. Another reason is that independent learners can possess complete control over their schedule and methodology. Indeed, students can be flexible in their schedule to accommodate professional and family commitments, ensuring their skill progression in learning without the constraints of an official timetable. Students who are struggling at a particular subject also learn at their own pace without concern to keep up with their peers. Consequently, students feel comfortable and work efficiently to hone their knowledge.

On the other hand, I would side with those who opt for structured instruction under the guidance of teachers. Firstly, teachers offer direct supervision or learning pathway for students to gain achievement quickly. In detail, instructors can demonstrate correct procedures and provide immediate feedback, helping students to curtail the trial-and-error phase inherent in self-study. Thus, this method prevents the formation of ineffective or unsafe habits. For instance, adults learning intricate skills such as culinary arts in a class master will be supervised by their teachers, which is more reliable than studying autonomously. Secondly, the interactive classroom environment enhances motivation and collaboration. The shared learning experience among peers can boost engagement, and sometimes compete with members of groups to gain achievement, which in turn fosters greater persistence. As a consequence, this collective participation allows adults sustain their interest and overcome challenges more effectively compared to they learn in isolation without encouragement from their colleagues.

In conclusion, while it is true that learning practical skills autonomously is essential and advantageous, I completely agree with those who believe that structured instruction from teachers will be useful for adults because of direct supervision, and interaction, etc.