Some people think homework is necessary for students, while others believe it should be banned. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Homework is an indispensable part of education nowadays. While some argue that homework is unnecessary, in my view, homework is an essential part of the education system.

On the one hand, those who support eliminating homework in schools argue that homework puts pressure on students. In their view, lessons in class should fully cover all the knowledge needed, and that extra work after class is unnecessary. Due to this, they dismiss the role of homework in the education system. Yet, this belief can hold students back. Without necessary practice, they might not be able to apply their knowledge into practice. In my view, understanding knowledge itself is not as important as being able to put it into real exercises. Removing homework will probably result in academic performance dropping.

Conversely, proponents of extra work after class for students assert that homework improves students’ academic performance significantly, as it gives students the opportunity to revise their knowledge after class. Not only that, it helps students build a self-learning attitude and researching skills. These skills are vital for shaping their future success, since self-learning is necessary in working environments nowadays as the world changes fast and we need to acquire new skills even after leaving school. In addition, homework plays an important role in shaping responsibility and discipline. Having a deadline on schoolwork allows students to get used to time-limits on tasks, which is a needed skill when they leave school and become employees in the future.

Overall, in my view, homework plays a vital role in the current education system. With the right amount of work, students will be able to perform better academically while also shaping their responsibility and discipline for a better future career.