Some people think increasing the cost of fuel is the best way to solve global environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is alleged that the best way to alleviate environmental issues is to increase the cost of fuel. I partially agree with this approach and believe that although it is a workable solution, there is another way that works much better in addressing environmental issues.

On the one hand, raising the cost of fuel is a deterrent for individuals to use their private cars when they want to go out, leading to a reduction in air and noise pollution. That is to say, most people cannot afford the high cost of fuel for their cars. Thus, they will prefer to use other modes of transportation, such as bicycles, buses, and subways, which are eco-friendly, for commuting. In other words, the replacement of private cars with eco-friendly vehicles leads to the reduction of traffic congestion in cities, which can ultimately alleviate air pollution and noise pollution, stemming from exhaust fume and car horns, respectively, in cities.

However, there is an alternative solution that is more effective in solving environmental issues. To begin with, the best way is to make individuals aware of the consequences of their actions on the environment and encourage them to take severe measures to address these issues. To put it differently, the most effective way is to provide educational tools to enhance individuals’ knowledge about environmental problems and the ways to overcome and solve these issues. Thus, it can pave the way for Earth dwellers to be more cautious towards wildlife conservation and environmental protection. For instance, at schools, teachers should raise children’s awareness about environmental problems, factors that can worsen these issues, and measures to solve these problems.

To sum up, although the enhancement of fuel cost can deter people from using their private cars, leading to a reduction in air and noise pollution, education can be the best way because it can boost individuals’ knowledge about environmental issues and make them more cautious.