Some people think overcrowding in large cities can be reduced by building skyscrapers, while others think the problem can be solved by encouraging people to move to the countryside. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, people hold different views about whether alleviating overcrowding in urban areas should be achieved through the construction of skyscrapers or by encouraging people to relocate to rural areas. From my point of view, even though skyscraper construction may seem viable, the solution of incentives people to move to the countryside provides far greater benefits.

On the one hand, many people might argue that more apartment construction are able to lessen the burden of accommodation. One possible justification for this argument is that high towers are likely to accommodate numerous families within a limited space, thereby reducing the amount of land required for housing in densely populated cities. Additionally, the government as well as investors are allocating a large amount of funds to construct numerous well-equipped apartments to appeal to citizens to settle down there, contributing to easing the housing demand pressure. Nevertheless, it is not a sustainable way because investing in this housing counterpart requires a multitude of public budgets. It is no doubt that erecting more tall buildings could not solve the problem at its root due to inadequate capital.

Despite the above arguments, I do perceive that residents being incentivized to live in outskirt areas would considerably more effectively tackle overcrowding. It is undeniable that rural areas offer ample land for housing which meets the needs of accommodation. A municipality that is spread out over a large area would have more room for parks and other communal spaces, which can improve air quality and provide a pleasant environment for people to socialize. Furthermore, the government could invest funds to develop various types of tourism and outstanding tourist attractions, which draw foreigners, to enhance the local tourism sector. For instance, Sapa in Vietnam has been transformed into a prominent tourist destination due to government incentives for relocation to rural areas and simultaneous enhancements in tourism projects. Therefore, authorities encourage residents to migrate to the countryside, not only to resolve population issues but also to improve tourism.

In conclusion, for the reasons discussed above, I believe that living in a suburban area would bring more benefits than drawbacks, if not more, in spite of some concerns.