Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn't do that as children can read books or watch TV, or movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary era, the way that children get the information has become a widely discussed topic. Some people contend that parents should be the one who read or tell stories to their children, while others argue that children can learn by reading book, watching TV by themselves. Although I understand the reason behind the former view, I still advocate the latter opinion. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and support my opinion with rationales and examples.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that there are several advantages when let parents take the responsibility to select the information and read stories to children. One main benefit is that these reading activities can foster the relationship between parents and children. This is because in the fast-paced world, parents seem spend almost of their time for working and as a result, it leads to lack of connection with their children. Spending time everyday reading a book or telling a story can connect and help them understand their children more clearly. Moreover, when parents involve in reading book, they can carefully opt for the suitable material for their children. For example, in Vietnam, it is easy to find a comic with many violent scenes which are not appropriated for young people to read. Therefore, with the filter of parents, childhood can be protected.

However, I still support the view that children can broaden their horizon without the support from their parents. Firstly, self-reading can facilitate the self-confidence of children. When they actively research the suitable documents and read it by themselves, they will develop the self-learning ability, which help them confident to make their own choice in the future. Furthermore, children can select their own materials which can increase the willingness to learn new things. This is because children can expose with many sources of data from wide range of book to various movie titles, and they can choose and personalize the information that they want to read and study. The customization will make them feel interested and children are more willing to read or watch more.

In conclusion, even though there are several advantages when parents read books and tell stories to children, I still advocate that children should do it by themselves to foster the self-confidence and enhance their willingness.