Some people think schools should group pupils according to their academic ability, but others believe pupils with different abilities should be educated together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of whether students who study at school should be categorized according to their educational talents is an ongoing debate nowadays. While many agree with this way of teaching, others argue that it is better to educate those with diverse skills together. In my opinion, while focusing on mentoring same-ability students is a productive approach, grouping pupils with different abilities is far greater.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons for which same academic ability students should be grouped together. First of all, organizing these types of groups is very essential for students’ future life as when they are surrounded by people who have similar skills, they tend to foster their ability further. This is because, by interacting and working with people with the same mindset or skills, students will become eager to learn deeper as there will be a significant competitive atmosphere. This results in growing their ability and it will assist them to become leaders in their professions as they have mastered a certain type of ability. For instance, when a student is exposed to a class where others share similar abilities, he is more likely to work harder to show who can use his potential to the maximum. Therefore, it is crucial to organize classes with same academic ability students.

On the other hand, there are numerous reasons for why school authorities should focus on making classes with a variety of academically skilled students. To begin with, a student who has a special talent in something specific should not be left with it for the rest of his life. So, schools should put a number of academically diverse people in one class. This allows students to evolve new kinds of abilities as others in the class who possess different skills help them develop new abilities. This ensures that students will not be left alone with one skill for life. Additionally, acquiring several academic abilities will help students in the future, such as when they step into adult life or study at prestigious universities. For example, when a student acquires different skills from his group mates, he can use them in the future when applying to his dream colleges, as possessing diverse skills makes them stand out among other contestants.

In conclusion, although studying in a group where everyone has the same ability might be helpful, grouping pupils with different abilities has far more meaningful and beneficial sides. I believe that school authorities should concentrate on building classes where everyone has unique educational talents.