Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There was contention that the resolution of world health problems should be prioritized by scientists. While others argue that there are more important issues than that. Although I side with the latter view, both opinions will be discussed below.

There are several reasons why scientists should focus on health problems. A deadly virus may induce substantial damage to a human’s health in various ways by piercing our immune system. Without preparation for health research, we can not treat our ailments properly. To elucidate this, COVID-19 is a worldwide disease that harms millions of people. There was no treatment at first, as the scientist didn’t expect such a deadly disease to spread and deteriorate people’s health. It took almost 2 years to research a vaccination and put it on people as a “temporary treatment” for the disease.

However, I am more convinced that there are more crucial issues to tackle than focusing on world health problems. Food scarcity in some places is also a long-term problem that has never been fully solved, as their main food source is badly influenced by harsh weather events like droughts and floods. In addition to hunger, there are environmental problems like air pollution caused by CO2 emissions from cars, which reduces the life span of human beings. Therefore, focusing predominantly on world health issues is very risky and may exacerbate other serious problems if there is no concern for or management for them.

In conclusion, I agree that health is very important to everyone. However, I believe the act of focusing on one problem instead of looking at everything generally is not the right way to keep our world balanced. Hence, there should be more additional action toward this problem, as there are many important issues in our world that are not health-related that need to be ameliorated.