Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many individuals argue that the priority of scientific research should be tackling health problems worldwide, while others believe there are issues that are of greater significance. This essay will explore the benefits of both approaches before my personal opinion is presented.

Proponents of the former viewpoint point out several rationales. Focused research on people’s health could lay the foundation for medical breakthroughs that play a pivotal role in treatment of diseases. This can be exemplified by the discovery of penicillin. Without consistent effort to research on the positive effects as well as potential negative consequences of it, penicillin would not have come into universal use, saving millions of lives. Therefore, prioritizing solutions to health issues would contribute significantly to improving human living standards.

However, I believe that the role of scientific research should be dealing with environmental problems, especially in current conditions. In fact, the increasing adversity of pollution and climate change has been the culprit of many concerning health issues such as respiratory diseases. Thus, by focusing on alleviating the detrimental impacts of such problems on human lives, scientists or researchers could reduce the resources needed for disease treatment. For example, research on sustainable, environmentally-friendly practices would help citizens to develop a healthier lifestyle, preventing health risks. Such initiatives appear to be more efficient in tackling the root causes of health problems, enhancing overall well-being.

In conclusion, although regarding solutions to health problems as the biggest goal of scientific research can enhance life quality, I still believe that surmounting environmental issues should be prioritized as it would be more effective in improving human well-being.