Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

In recent decades, many researches have studied the importance of group-level cognition. Indeed, to my mind, there is now convincing evidence that group activities may increase level of intelligence among individuals. In this essay, I shall review how research in team work supports this view.

To begin with, group discussions in medical education clearly need many people to throw their light on specific topic. Thus, students come up with diverse opinions which ultimately boost their skills and attitude. For instance, a research done in undergraduates in India, depicts that when students worked in groups, they were able to speak in confidence because everyone was getting a chance to present their ideas irrespective of their grading in class, in contrast to those where individual student was assessed.

Secondly, team-groups are helpful in taking up a project comprising of people from different branches to work on a research which helps them to reach to an outcome. For example, an experiment in California revealed that plants need sunlight for photosynthesis. This exploration was only accepted when many scientists gave their report to media and could defend their practicality. This would not have been possible if single person had commented on this.

To sum it up, I strongly agree with the statement that group activities not only improves the intellectual of a person, but also shapes an individuals’ personality.