Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, there are a lot of competitions in people’s everyday life. Some people believe that if you convince a person that he has to compete with everyone at work, at school, or even in daily life in order to achieve something, he will be more confident and competitive. Other people think that everyone should cooperate more, supporting each other, in order to make new friends or simply to know that you will have someone’s shoulder to lean on in your atrocious times.

In schools or even in preschool institutions, children are taught to compete with each other, in order to get a good mark or to be better than others. Almost all adults in a child’s life, such as parents, relatives, or teachers, tell him that he must study well, go to additional classes or master some musical instrument, and sometimes to do all of these things. This can lead to undesirable consequences. A child will be exhausted all the time, he will not have enough time to spend his childhood, and he might have a feeling that parents or other adults in his life love him only when he achieves something. Over time, when a child grows up, he might rebel against his parents and do whatever he wants.

On the other hand, cooperation takes a main part of human life because people are sociable creatures. We need to have someone on our side. Even if it is only one close friend, a person will feel like he can stand against the whole world. In many companies or jobs, there are always groups of people working together, finding decisions and making conferences. Working together with people who have the same goals as you do, you will achieve more than if you work alone.

In my opinion, parents should listen to their child. Undoubtedly, every parent wants the best for their child, but this does not mean that they know what a child wants. Sometimes a youngster has a talent to draw and to create gorgeous things such as sculptures or art, but parents want him to study science just because they are doctors or lawyers. There are situations that are the exact opposite: parents want their child to be involved in art, but the child prefers to study science. This leads to misunderstandings and a cold relationship between a child and relatives. If parents listen to the child, support him with all his startings, and do not compare him to other children, a child will always know what he wants to do in his life. In that case, there will be no need for competition among the right people, and together everyone will achieve more than if every person were on their own.