Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged in children. Others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become more useful alduts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Other believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather that compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present, some people believe that children should be raised to be competitive while others argue that cooperation is more crucial. Competition has brought many benefits, especially in terms of motivation while cooperation’s main benefit is social skills. All of which will be examined in this essay.

To begin with, one of the principal advantages of competition is motivation. This is due to the fact that a competitive environment forces children to push themself automatically. Psychologically, it is normal that most children do not want to be viewed as inferior to others, they will lose confidence easily if they are in the bottom position of the groups. On the other side, kids want to be accepted by their friends and families, resulting in a motivation to encourage themself and develop their performance. For instance, students from Triamudomsuksa school which is known for its competitive learning environment, compared to other schools,not only have high academic performance but also succeed in their careers.

On the other side of this argument, cooperation improves children’s social skills. In other words, group project assignments provide an opportunity for kids to learn how to communicate with people, how to listen to each other to be in unity and problem-solving skills. Leading to the development of soft skills that enable them to interact with other people effectively. According to research conducted by Chulalongkorn University, it reveals that as many as 70% of students that done their group projects many times, have progressed in confidence and made many new friends.