Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think that they should be allowed to study subjects related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The choice of studying courses related to one’s preferences in a university is contentious with some advocating for students to study courses as per their liking while others necessitating that students study subjects connected with science and technology. This essay explains both viewpoints regarding this matter in detail along with apt examples.

On one hand, students should be allowed to learn courses of their choice in a university is very much essential for a multitude of reasons. Firstly, having autonomy over the course of study can encourage an individual to be fully committed to the course thereby doing well in assessments of the subject. This freedom also allows one to specialize in an area as per their liking. Take the case of the eligibility requirements for a MBA degree- since MBA graduates are required to solve problems and manage resources in a volatile and unpredictable environment, having a diverse perspective helps to view problems from a certain angle. This is exactly what makes an MBA degree different. The exposure from engineers, doctors, arts and commerce students enriches one’s intellectual repository thereby resulting in varied thought processes.

On the other hand, the viewpoint that subjects related to science and technology be taught to students is also wise. This is due to the fact that majority of the innovations happen in the interconnected spheres of science and technology thereby resulting in untapped opportunities for growth and development. This could lead to more job creation and smarter and convenient solutions to problems in era dominated by technological advancements. For instance, engineering and science degrees are the most promising in terms of job opportunities in various sectors highlighting the above viewpoint. In short, the above two fields are the dominant ones in terms of revenue creation and applications of learning.

To conclude, while there are merits to both sides of the topic at hand, I personally believe that students must be given the choice to pursue courses of their liking since this could result in a diverse set of individuals with ideas and solutions necessary to tackle the problems at hand in today’s day and age.