Some people think that big companies should provide sports and social facilities for the local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thoughts holds that fitness and social amenities ought to be provided for local residents by large corporations. Personally, I mostly agree with that notion due to several reasons.

Admittedly, being socially responsible by establishing sports and social facilities can exert certain negative effects. To begin with, businesses may incur high costs as they may need to allocate money for collaborating with external companies to roll out programs as well as building and maintaining those facilities. Unfortunately, not all of the corporations may have expertise in this and cannot manage it effectively, potentially being imposed by financial burdens. However, when it comes to large companies, that amount of money may not be considerable to their revenues, if not being trivial. Another drawback of this approach can be exacerbated social inequality. Upon closer scrutiny, the benefits of businesses-providing sports and social facilities may not be experienced widely by people from all walks of life. As big companies may often opt for major cities or urban areas to be their markets, individuals from remote regions may find it arduous to get exposed to high quality facilities, directly widening the gap between those groups of people. Nevertheless, at least taking certain actions can be more feasible than let the government be the only one to shoulder the responsibilities.

Instead, I contend that the merits of this development can far outweigh its demerits. First and foremost, the more sports and social amenities emerge, the more likely people’s health and life quality are enhanced. The locals may able to either be incentivized to engage in physical activities or receive monetary support by businesses’ philanthropy. Not only that but large firms can be the most significant contributors to environmental problems such as pollution created by their large-scale operations and resources depletion, thus negatively affecting people’s well-being and living standards. Hence, being held accountable for providing fitness and social programs can be an avenue for companies to compensate. Furthermore, a positive brand image can be produced by applying this method which attracts more customers and talents who usually take businesses’ socially responsible culture into consideration, consequently boosting bottom lines of these profit-makers.

In conclusion, notwithstanding certain constraints, I contend that large entities should endeavour to accommodate the locals with sports and social facilities since the public’s health and their revenue can be boosted as a result.