Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extend do you agree?

It is true that a debate exists among members of society about whether books are becoming irrelevant and insignificant as providers of information. While I agree that nowadays people are becoming more addicted to technology such as phones and obtain needed data on the internet rather than in books, there is also an adequate number of individuals who keep reading despite such developments that have been emerging over the last decades.

On the one hand, as our technology has become more advanced, the importance of books has almost been lost in the 21st century. People also do not spend their time reading, wasting it on the internet, which could be allocated to useful things such as reading useful articles and books that are really going to help them and enhance not only their knowledge but also their comprehension, as well as the entertainment that books provide. For instance, even though adults emphasize their attention to reading, minors exclusively do not, wasting their valuable time, which cannot be returned in the future, on useless engagement like playing online games, and the majority of them have ceased to do outdoor activities such as football or basketball, for example.

On the other hand, there are still a sufficient number of people who have not been trapped by the evolution of technology. Moreover, e-books should be mentioned; even though many people do not go to the library and search for needed books there, they may read e-books that are available on the internet. Even though the internet has detrimental aspects, it has positive sides as well.

In conclusion, I would like to restate the fact that books are not utterly forgotten and are actively read by men and women.