Some people think that children should only read academic books. Others believe that reading books for pleasure is equally important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Reading books broaden the horizon of knowledge and creativity. It is often argued that children should devote their reading time only on academic books, while the proponents argue that leisure reading is similarly crucial. Although, educational reading plays a considerable role in achieving high grades at school and ultimately conquering a career growth, I strongly believe that reading for satisfaction plays an equally important role in the development of a child’s cognitive skills, emotional intelligence, and creativity.

On the one hand, school children have limited time available; however, the contemporary world has created a never-ending competition for higher grades. Hence, most often parents prioritize only on their child’s academic development. Complexity of the subjects such as mathematics, geometry, science, geography, and history require further. If the students have scored higher grades and successful competency levels at classroom, there is a higher tendency to acquire a successful career in the future.

On the other hand, reading beyond theory books develop cognitive skills, general knowledge and creative skills among the school children. Numerous research-based studies have proven that students who read fictional books tend to be with higher IQ in comparison to those who do not. Children who are interested in reading story books, fictional stories, and animated novels deal with a narrative environment developing imagination, creativity and analytical skills. Rarely do parents support a child’s reading development at an early age; however, readying stimulates not only the child’s mental development, but also the curiosity to learning. Moreover, the habit of reading for joy will not only create individuals with emotional intelligence but also with empathy.

At school, children tend to spend long hours between pages of theory, complex content, and concepts. The competitive world is on a rat race for higher grades, higher education aspirations and a better career; however, the focus on the development of emotional and moral values have received a negligible importance from the society. Hence, in the modern world, children who are leaving the school premises after school hours are yet forced to involve in educational reading and further developing their subjects’ knowledge.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that reading for satisfaction should gain similar popularity in this era due to its immense benefits for mental and moral development of a child.