Some people think that children who fail in school will have a limited future. Do you agree?

According to popular belief, the future of failed school students is limited. I would like to take into consideration both sides of the subject by asserting that the inability to succeed in school is not detrimental, albeit it might potentially bear some negative consequences.

On the one hand, there is undoubtable evidence that recruitment specialists take into consideration the professional qualifications of a candidate during the hiring process. Consequently, people with no basic education might have a disadvantage while applying to leading positions in companies. Therefore, the absence of a high-school diploma might hinder one’s professional growth. Additionally, the lack of basic knowledge acquired in the classroom might reflect upon the individual’s lifestyle. He or she might, for instance, fail to accurately assess the financial situation of his/her family and, as a result, make uneducated decisions, negatively affecting the household budget. Finally, the ability to reason, taught in every school, is instrumental in everyday life, as it is the cornerstone of an individual’s actions in all situations.

On the other hand, one might argue that the knowledge and skills required to succeed in the world are not necessarily gained by attending classes for a few hours every day. That argument is substantiated by dozens of examples of the life stories of famous celebrities, as well as from my personal life. The epitome of the latter would be the story of my uncle who, without any qualification, successfully manages a multi-million-dollar organization with about twenty employees: a feat that may seem incomprehensible to some people. Other examples of this phenomenon might include several professional singers and actors who never finished high-school, but lead wonderful careers exploring their passion and, simultaneously, securing their financial situation.

In conclusion, the school certification might offer a considerable amount of advantage in the realm of professional growth and offer support in general tasks, but there is undoubtable evidence that people can succeed without it. Thus, I would like to argue that my belief that school has an unarguably positive contribution to the development of an individual’s life, but is not a deciding factor of success, is ground in reality.