Some people think that companies should provide employees with exercise time during the day. What is your opinion about this?

A question arising in contemporary society is that whether employers should provide employees with exercise time during the workday. Personally, I am in agreement with this point of view due to some causes that will be presented in this essay.

Admittedly, doing exercises could result in several disadvantages. The most striking one is that it is costly, such as equipment purchases, facility renovations and program development. This is because not all workplaces may have the infrastructure or resources to accommodate on-site exercise facilities. This is a high probability that small businesses or some within budgetary constraints may find it challenging to efficiently allocate resources towards this program and other strategic priorities, making it difficult to justify the investment. This implementation is also prone to the potential of discrimination, for individuals with physical disabilities or medical conditions may feel excluded and disadvantaged with this program, which may create disparities in the workplace.

Nevertheless, I believe that the advantages are predominant. To begin with, employees’ well-being could be improved on the grounds that doing exercise minimizes physical conditions and mitigates the risk of chronic diseases such as obesity, diabetes, heart disease, etc. which are common office-related ailments. This is likely to give rise to low rates of burnout and less absenteeism. Not only will this initiative be beneficial for employees’ health, but it also paves the way for the enhancement of their mental health. This is because exercise breaks can help workers release tension in the fast-paced and high-pressure working environment, which enables them to return to their tasks with renewed energy and focus. For these reasons, taking breaks for exercise contributes to the boost in employees’ productivity, which also improves the overall success of the organization.

In conclusion, I believe despite any drawbacks there could be, the provision of exercise time should be implemented to promote employee’s well-being and also organizational success. It is not just a perk for employees, but it is also a strategic investment.