Some people think that companies should provide employees with exercise time during the day. What is your opinion about this?

It is contended by some that companies should allocate part of the work houres to employees’ exercise time. I believe this trend will develop workers’ perfomance by improving their physical health; however, managements should ensure this policy will not become an excuse for employees to waste the work time and refuse to do what they should be doing.

On the one hand, a person with a sedentary lifestyle is more likely to get annoyed by working for long hours rather than someone with a great physical fitness. Consequently, providing workers with excersise time comes with great merits. This policy will strengthen workers’ muscles, which improves their ability to sit and work for more hours, since this position requires all the muscles of neck and shoulders to function well. Furthermore, exercising will make the brain perform better and the person to be more energetic due to an increased blood flow and dopamine level—the happiness hormone, which also affects on the performance of the brain. Additionally, this trend will cause employees’ cholesterol level decrease, which makes them less sleepy, and hence, develop their performance at work.

On the other hand, some workers may spend a vast amount of their time on exercising, to the point where they underperform at work, be it because of the lack of time or just being exhuasted to focus on their job. For instance, playing football, which can be considered a physical exersion, tend to make employees more tired rather than fresh and energetic.

In conclusion, I contend although the advantages of providing workers with an excersise time are crusial and significant, this trend should be carefully applied on their schedules. One think to do is to arrange a recreational activity such as yoga instead of a copetitive sport such as volleyball and football. The other is to allocate no more than half an hour to this trend. This way, companies can ensure that no one will get exhuasted and also not a significant amount of time will be spent on exercising rather than working.