Some people think that developing a successful career is more important than spending time with family and friends, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that professional career pursuit should take precedence over good bonds with family and friends. Others, nevertheless, strongly dispute and believe that another balanced approach should be embraced. Although both schools of thought hold merit, I agree more with the latter.

Granted, proponents of a career-centric approach assert that a successful career can eventually contribute to human well-being. Such belief stems from the fact that the more time and effort people dedicate to work, the more likely that they can get promoted and yield higher incomes. Then, with a solid financial foundation, these people are enabled to assist their family and even pursue their personal interests, which can ultimately enhance their level of happiness. Additionally, this reasoning is further consolidated by the fact that the current competitive workforce has rendered it more crucial than ever to put in some devotion; otherwise, individuals can be pushed toward job loss and financial hardships.

Despite these compelling arguments, it is crucial to acknowledge that family and friends are our invaluable sources of mental support, and a lack of interaction with them can jeopardize such relationships irreversibly. That is, research has consistently shown that social connections contribute significantly to mental well-being and life satisfaction, and according to a study conducted by Oxford University, those with a dynamic social life are particularly less prone to depression than those who not. Furthermore, as the strength of a relationship is built upon quality time and connection, a long-lasting period of not communicating can lead to estrangement. To a more severe degree, it can even trigger broken relationships, making it a regretful decision when looking back.

To conclude, while a focus on career development might come with fiscal gain and financial stability, overly fixating on work can make us ignorant of our precious relationships, particularly family and friends. Therefore, a balanced approach should be maintained, ensuring that we are both financially capable and emotionally fulfilled.