Some people think that family has the most powerful influence on a child's development while others believe that other factors (friends, television, music …) have a stronger effect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely debated whether a child’s development is primarily shaped by family environment or other external influences such as social media, peers and music. From my perspective, although family lays the foundation, I believe that these external social impacts play a significant role in shaping children’s early years.

On the one hand, home setting is a key factor in a child’s growth , particularly foundational aspects. Children are taught to distinguish right from wrong through daily interactions with their parents and older siblings, which shape their moral outlook. Many personal traits, such as discipline, resilence or independence also develop from a structured and nurturing family environment. An additional aspect worth considering is that children’s ability to learn and use language also stems from family background as they hear and imitate sounds from infancy. Therefore, parents are encouraged to read bedtime stories to their toddlers, helping them develop communication skills and language ability.

On the other hand, external social factors should not be given equal consideration alongside internal ones. First, children study at school,where they daily interact with friends and teachers, and in doing so, they develop their character and intellectual abilities. Academic discussions in lessons stimulate children’s curiosity and imagination and foster their critical thinking, which often goes beyond what parental support at home can provide. Second, in this interconnected world today, young people are familiar with television, social media and musical trends ,as they engage with them almost everyday. As a result, their perceptions as well as beliefs can sometimes be distorted if social media content or song lyrics carry negative influences , which are often difficult for parents to control.

To sum up, while family environment can be a solid foundation for guiding children’s character and behavior, I strongly believe that outside elements from trends on social media, broacasts, and music can leave a more lasting impact on ther overall well-being.