Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that is money could be batter spent elswhere

Some people believe that public funds should not be used to support arts programs because there are better ways to invest this money. However, challenging this assumption, I strongly disagree with this view, and, from my perspective, investing in arts is investing in education and growth.

Firstly, studies have shown that studying arts can be a powerful tool for brain development. To illustrate, playing instruments, as well as reading music sheets, requires a great deal of attention and concentration. Musicians often use both hands, and sometimes their feet too, to do different things at the same time. These activities need both the right and the left part of our brain. Experts argue that the more people use it, the better developed it becomes. Secondly, arts, in all its forms, fosters creativity, encourages self expression and helps to develop critical thinking, by broadening people’s view of the world, the other and themselves. Last but not least, there are many art programs that aim at serving underserved communities with neither access to culture nor arts. There are thousands of people who have shared their success stories saying how art, especially federal programs or NGO’s work, have changed their lives. These people claim that it was the only access and opportunity they had in life and how it was the key to change their realities.

On the other hand, politicians often argue that there isn’t enough money, and that there are more important investments to make rather than arts. However, in developing countries like Brazil, public funds are not quite well-allocated because there is a shift in priorities and values, and also, a great deal of corruption.

To conclude, I personally believe that the government should invest its funds in creating more art initiatives, as it helps to foster creativity and self expression, as well as develops cognition. Additionally, it is a tool to cause social impact on underserved communities and to change their realities for the better.