Some people think that housing facilities should be built in the vacant areas of cities and towns, while others believe that parks should be set instead. Planting trees is very important for the environment. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing disagreement about whether vacant spaces in cities should be used for accommodation or for parks to protect the environment. I believe that planting trees is crucial in big cities and small towns, as pollution is currently one of the most concerning issues.

First of all, air quality in cities must be preserved, since there are lots of industrial plants that release toxic substances into the air, and the most beneficial way to protect air quality is to plant more trees. There are small particulates in air that is not possible for humans to see, and they are one of the most essential reasons why city residents have problems with breathing; however, these substances can be soaked by trees and other plants. Another benefit of having many trees in cities is that they can absorb toxins that can be harmful for to all kinds of living creatures. For example, Dubai, a well- known city in the United Arab Emirates, faces problems related to air pollution, as there are hardly any parks in the city.

Moreover, crowds and transportation make lots of noises, which can be damaging to humans’ ability to hear. This problem is called noise pollution, and can be tackled by planting trees. As trees can absorb sounds, an increase in their number can have a positive impact on this issue. The branches and leaves of trees can reflect the sounds of traffic away from humans, and they can create a barrier between people and unnecessary sounds. For instance, the government of Canada created a plan including planting trees, to reduce noises in Toronto, and this regulation helped to lower the sound of traffic.

In conclusion, although some people believe that the vacant areas in cities must be used for housing, I am of the opinion that building parks can be more advantageous, as plants reduce a wide range of pollution.