Some people think that it is better for older schoolchildren to study a large number of subjects and develop a range of knowledge. Others argue that they should study a smaller number of subjects and focus in details. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether students should study a wide range of subjects or only a few but in depth. I believe that the answer depends on how old they are.

On the one hand, I believe that high school students should only study a few subjects. From their perspective, the main goal of high school is to equip them with fundamental knowledge for their future major in higher education. Limiting the number of subjects they have to take would, therefore, allow curricula to allocate more time and attention to these subjects, enabling students to master their chosen field at an earlier age. By contrast, forcing a math major to attend music theory classes, for instance, would not only be a waste of school resources but also of said student’s time, as it is more likely that such knowledge would be forgotten after graduation.

On the other hand, I am in favor of younger learners being exposed to a diversity of subjects. This is because such students are in their formative years, necessitating that schools teach the basics about the world around them as well as how to navigate it. This is especially important in today’s world, as the Internet has allowed everyone to post anything online regardless of its accuracy. As a result, without a basic understanding of science and history, the current generation could be easily misled by false information. A population of misinformed youths could be easily influenced by foreign and domestic actors, potentially threatening social stability.

In conclusion, while I support teaching a more focused range of subjects to high school students, I contend that younger learners should be taught a broader variety of topics and skills needed to succeed in the world today.