Some people think that it is better for older schoolchildren to study a large number of subjects and develop a range of knowledge. Others argue that they should study a smaller number of subjects and focus in details. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, there are more and more pressures put on high school students to be well-versed in multiple fields, thus it is suggested that they should study a wide range of subjects and develop their knowledge holistically. Other people think the opposite way, that schoolchildren should only focus on certain subjects. Although there is validity in each argument, I would recommend schoolchildren to study a smaller range of subjects at which they are actually good.

To begin with, a school of thought insists that studying many subjects would have certain benefits for the students. They argue that by learning and comprehending various knowledge in every field, students will be provided with the ability to resolve most problems which they may encounter in their lives. According to that, an individual with multiple understandings of numerous subjects seems to be able to analyse problems from multiple perspectives, therefore coming up with the best solution to tackle them. In addition, the measure is also believed to be effective in providing students with linking capabilities as it encourages students to find associations between information from different subjects. This, in turn, fosters the development of cognitive thinking and overall intelligence of students, which would be helpful in later stages of their life.

However, it should also be recognised that there are advantages of focusing on a smaller range of subjects, as well as the possible ramifications for learning numerous subjects at the same time, especially for older schoolchildren even though it seems promising. In reality, being specialised and excellent in a certain field would be much more beneficial, as the students would have competitive advantages over their competitors who are not specialised in the field. Thus it might be more practical for students just to focus on one particular subject which they are good at, unlike younger schoolchildren who need a good general knowledge foundation by learning a wide range of topics. Moreover, there might also be consequences to the approach of learning multiple subjects. One persuasive reason lies in the fact that over-focusing on many fields would overwhelm school students. The biological structure of the brain seems not to allow people to pay attention to multiple tasks at the same time and be good at all of them, therefore trying to have a good grasp of every subject would prevent a student from being excellent at any particular aspect. Consequently, it might result in a situation where students have an amount of knowledge for every field but none of them are deep and extensive enough.

Overall, while it is true that studying a wide variety of subjects would be advantageous in developing students’ thinking abilities and providing multiple analysing perspectives, we should not downplay the importance of being specifically well-versed in a particular subject in light of the realistic opportunities it provides, and the fact that most people’s brain might be unable to consume large amounts of knowledge from different subjects and being good at all of them. From my point of view, it is more advisable for schoolchildren to focus on a small range of subjects rather than following the opposite approach because of the presented arguments.