Some people think that it is better for older schoolchildren to study a large number of subjects and develop a range of knowledge. Others argue that they should study a smaller number of subjects and focus in details. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals are of the claim that schoolchildren could benefit from dedicating extensively to a large number of subjects and developing a range of knowledge. However, some believe that they should restrict their range of subjects. From my perspective, the answer depends on their ages.

On the one hand, there are several key reasons demonstrating why schoolers should prioritize studying numerous subjects simultaneously. At the elementary and secondary stages of education, learners are often in their formative years, and would benefit from substantial exposure to various subjects at school. This diverse learning experience is important because it not only equips students with a proper understanding about the world around them, but also helps them navigate it. Moreover, well-prepared students with knowledge in both science and social fields would be more likely to avoid misled beliefs from foreign and domestic actors. In other words, a population of misinformed youths would be reduced, resulting in a more sustainable society.

On the other hand, focusing on only a limited range of subjects is considered necessary for high-schoolers. It is attributed to the fact that this level serves as a solid foundation for students’ exploration of career interests and further educational directions. Hence, spending extensive hours on needed subjects should be significantly valued, which allows undergraduates to gain mastery in their chosen areas. Conversely, grabbing an overwhelming number of irrelevant subjects may be time-consuming and may lead to students forgetting most of what they have learnt after graduation. For example, an individual studying music theory while pursuing a career in pharmacy or technology would cause not only a waste of school resources, but also of said time.

In conclusion, the debate over whether schoolers should gain knowledge comprehensively or just concentrate on several crucial subjects is nuanced. In my opinion, it varies based on individuals’ age brackets due to the differences in their awareness levels and purposes in life. In detail, younger students benefit from a wide range of knowledge, while older students should prioritize subjects that align with their future goals.