Some people think that it is better for older schoolchildren to study a large number of subjects and develop a range of knowledge. Others argue that they should study a smaller number of subjects and focus in details. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The number of subjects designed on the curriculum for older schoolchildren has been a topic of ongoing debate.While some argue that acquiring a wide range of knowledge through various courses is essential, others believe that students should solely focus on some specific subjects that they fit the most. This essay will access the validity of both sides of this argument before providing my personal opinion.

Proponents of well-rounded education argue that exposure to wide range of field in their academic curriculum can be conducive to students’ overall development and career opportunities. This provides students with more chance to gain more insights into diverse societal facets and cultivate crucial skills, ensuring well-rounded profile, which is the paramount factor in thriving at later phases of life. For example, physical education is often understated and regarded as irrelevant to the development of intellectual capability; however, this course not only builds up a robust foundation for a healthy lifestyle but also encourages participants to proactively get expose to relevant industries such as health, sports, and leisure, which can be taken as reference for career potential.

However, narrowing down the amount of subject at school can be beneficial for several reasons. This is predicted from the assumption that older schoolchildren nowadays tend to acknowledge what they are passionate for and where their strengths are. According to this theory, allowing them to exclusively emphasizing the some areas of knowledge can foster learning conditions tailored to individuals’ needs. This could help them deepen their understanding of particular area, which expedites their professional aspects, and save a lot of time and effort in other areas of knowledge. If students were specialized in literature, they might partake in science subjects, namely chemistry, biology, and physics, thereby harnessing all their valuable time and efforts in shaping their writing and linguistic styles

In conclusion, while comprehensive education contribute to children’s well-rounded growth and career opportunities, I strongly believe that focusing specialised courses is more advantageous if they clearly identify their potential and career path. Hence, it is crucial that parents, teacher, and schools should organize more career-oriented activities and give children valuable guidance to discover their strengths at their early age.