Some people think that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that a country can make economic achievements without causing adverse effects on the environment. Conversely, other people believe that it is impossible to attain these goals simultaneously. From my perspective, in order to create financial benefits, people will harm the environment in some ways, therefore, I support the second statement.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some people believe that countries can achieve both economic development and environmental sustainability. Firstly, the government of countries with developed economies have many investment opportunities for environmental protection. In specific, economic achievements are a solid financial fund, allowing the government to willingly pay for maintaining a sustainable environment. In addition, countries can also develop their economies in ways that protect the environment such as using nuclear energy. It is a fact that nuclear power not only contributes to strong economic development but also does not emit harmful emissions such as CO2 or CH4 – dangerous substances that cause the greenhouse effect and global warming. Obviously, this approach helps balance between generating economic profits and protecting the environment.

On the other hand, there are some beliefs that achieving both economic benefits and a clean environment is an impossible task. First of all, most companies still burn fossil fuels while operating. To meet the economic situation, people have to rely on factories and industries that release carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, leading to an environment unsuitable for humanity, and causing global warming. For example, countries such as China and Australia have achieved economic prosperity, but their actions have had adverse environmental impacts and face significant pollution challenges such as air pollution due to dust and smoke, and high risk of forest fires due to global warming. Moreover, building financial development businesses, many countries have a propensity to destroy forests or encroach on seas, which demolishes the ecological balance and takes away habitats for living creatures.

Conclusively, although some people have a viable view on the balance between generating economic benefits and protecting the environment, I am still concerned about environmental mutation to have a prosperous economy. Government agencies should create commitments to protect the environment while developing the economy for businesses, helping to raise awareness and responsibility for protecting the environment of each individual.