Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security. Others think that people cannot expect to enjoy a job and that having a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that it is more advantageous to choose a job with a high wage, even if it doesn’t appeal to you at all. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that job satisfaction is much more important than income.

First of all, I believe that job satisfaction gives people a sense of fulfillment that no money can guarantee. Even if someone is earning a high income but feels tense and compromises with their conscience, this person won’t enjoy their life. Pursuing one’s interests will always bring pleasure and a feeling of fulfillment. For example, a lot of famous researchers made their career choices not due to appealing wages but because they were passionate about science. That’s why it’s more important to choose the kind of work that makes you happy than to look only at a high pay.

Secondly, doing what you like keeps you motivated and therefore leads to career growth. In other words, there is a strong relationship between loving one’s job and productivity. People who love their jobs can easily excel in their fields of work and achieve better results than those who put salary in the first place. For instance, Henry Miller decided to leave his everyday job despite a good wage and ventured to become a writer. Subsequently, after enduring years of ups and downs, he became one of the most famous and well-paid authors of the twentieth century. Thus, the advantages of jobs that keep you satisfied outweigh the drawback of low pay in the long-term perspective.

To conclude, I strongly believe that job satisfaction is more beneficial than a high salary since it makes people happy and motivated.