Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security. Others think that people cannot expect to enjoy a job and that having a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people hold the opinion that job satisfaction is more important than a secure job, while others argue that it is not realistic to expect job satisfaction, and thus it is beneficial to have a permanent job which is secure. This essay intends to analyze both viewpoints. I personally consider that job satisfaction is short-lived and hence, employees should prioritize security over satisfaction.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why some people prioritize job satisfaction. Firstly, job satisfaction is very important from the perspective of work-life balance. If people are not happy with their jobs, they would be stressed and unhappy in their personal lives too. Secondly, job satisfaction means that people work more efficiently and productively and this ensures that companies value them more and reward them with bonuses from time to time.

On the other hand, the main reason given by those who favour job security is that it ensures better productivity. If people are not worried about being laid off at any time, they would be able to relax and give their best at work. Another reason is that job security ensures financial stability. Financial stability means that the employees have a comfortable family life, free from worries of debts and loans and thus they are able to concentrate better at work.

I believe that people’s expectations from their work will keep growing, and hence job satisfaction can only be temporary, and they may be disappointed when their further desires fail to fulfil. It can also happen that once people get job satisfaction, they may become less ambitious, which may be detrimental for themselves and their work. In comparison, job security can ensure that the employees dedicate their energy into work with little worries from being fired due to their mistakes.

In conclusion, I would argue that the quest for job satisfaction is never-ending and employees should care more about a secure job.