Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is generally believed/often claimed that the increase in fuel cost for cars and other means of transport is the best way for addressing environmental problems. Personally, I totally disagree with this view for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is clear that increasing the fuel price is useful in reducing environmental pollution. When seeing the bill on travel rise, people can feel being discouraged from using their private cars. They can have other alternatives such as using public transport, including buses or trains, or they even walk or cycle for short distances. All these lead to a decrease in the exhaust fumes, which are one of the main cause of air pollution.

However, I believe that there are other better approaches that can resolve this environmental issue. One more effective method is to raise people’s awareness about this heated issue. In order to make people get involved in protecting the environment. There should be some programmes such as talk shows or real activities including collecting rubbish or reducing plastic packaging which make them realize the causes and effects of environmental problems. Another better way may be increasing the road pricing applied to motor vehicles. When this takes effect, not all people can afford to use motor vehicles due to accumulating prices thereby reducing level of car uses running on fossil fuels. As a result, the amount of emission will be reduced.

In conclusion, raising fuel cost is not the best method to combat environmental problems. There may be other better ones such as making people more aware of the matter and raising road tolls which also offer no less effective approaches.