Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A school of thought states that there is no better route to address ecological issues than elevating the price of fuel used for transportation. In this essay, I will clarify several points to substantiate my partial disagreement with this perspective.

On one hand, the reduction of individual vehicles has rendered the increasing fuel cost beneficial. When there is no price rise, judging from the optimal convenience for commuting of personal vehicles and their economical factor, the majority of commuters will opt for these without a doubt. However, with the exponential cost growth and the vehicular consumption of fuel, private cars may no longer be the most efficient choice, potentially out-performed by public transportation, which also embodies sufficient convenience and availability, coupled with its reasonable fares. If individuals can commute by public conveyances in the long run, the emissions from transport will gradually decline. Since the composition of such released gases include CO2, the decrease of them will definitely ease the severity of air pollution, eventually resulting in many pronounced contributions to the collective environmental resolution.

Conversely, it is still undeniable that accompanying with the surge in the fuel value, delivery fees may arise as an imperative problem. As the fuel is of great usage of other modes of transportation such as trucks, the cost increase not only transforms individual commuting habits, but also impacts other traffic, including those vehicles which undertake the task of delivering. Consequently, due to the rise, the transit process can become significantly more costly, leading to higher fees and the jump of goods’ prices. When products are more expensive, being unable to purchase them is an inevitable issue, especially for food supplies, this might even become knotty and problematic concern if people cannot afford enough food to feed themselves.

In conclusion, even though the escalation of fuel cost can diminish the prevalent use of private cars and the amount of vehicular emissions, the soar in delivery fees and prices of many products still emphasize its negativity to be practiced. Therefore, individuals and governments should make use of the annually stable trajectory of fuel value in order to encourage commuters to use public transport services instead, while tackling the environmental matters by other plausible and practical solutions such as trash classification.