Some people think that printed books are no longer needed in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electronically. Others think printed books will still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to some people, printed books are not needed in this digital era

and writing can be saved digitally, while to others, printed books still have dominant roles.

In the digital era, electronic devices allow readers to carry thousands of different books in a single device, making it convenient for travelling. It also offers benefits like environmental conservation by reducing the usage of paper and ink. For readers, electronic books can be easily accessed and downloaded from anywhere from the internet, removing the need to visit physical bookstores or libraries. Not only that, electronic books often cost less than their printed version, making reading more affordable for many people. Also, it comes with a lot of features like changeable font sizes, search functions, highlight specific words, and many more. Additionally, electronic writing can be easily edited, shared, and updated.

However, printed books offer the act of physically holding and turning pages and the smell which holds a satisfactory feeling for some readers. Moreover with printed books, readers can focus reading without getting distractions from screens. Printed books are often collected, with some of them becoming valuable over time for its rarity. Also, reading from electronic screens for a long period of time can cause the eye to tire, whereas printed books provide a more comfortable reading experience.

In my opinion, although electronic books are more practical and cheaper, I still prefer printed books, because I love to collect books and feel satisfied when I see my bookshelf filled with different kinds of unique books.