Some people think that printed books are no longer needed in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electronically. Others think printed books will still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to some people, the role of printed books has been already replaced by the appearance of digital books in nowadays and all writings can be saved online. This essay will discuss both the strengths in two ways of reading.

With the advance of technology, electronic writings have spread out over the world due to their conveniece and benefits for readers. Firstly, varieties of books can be brought just inside digital devices and people can read the downloaded ones, without connecting the Internet. Secondly, electronic books are usually cheaper than printed those because they do not need to include prices for ingredients and other fees. In addition, some books are only online for several reasons from authors not to establish on papers. As a result, people will have larger range of choices and buy more digital books with the same amount of money. Moreover, the extra reason for many people to read E-books is protecting the environment. To create a printed writing, people have to cut down trees for papers, exploit resources for printing, whereas a digital work does not need natural ingredients to make.

Turning to the printed novels, the owning of physical books can bring some mental benefits for readers. Collecting books is a hobby for many people on the Earth and the feeling of holding a full collection of favourite novel series, such as Harry Porter, A Game of Thrones or The Dark Tower, is so satisfying and pleasing. Additionally, when people use their phones or laptops to read, they can easily get distracted by notifications or annoyances on the screen. As a consequence, reading a book is more focused method and it also can prevent people from eyestrain after long time watching on the screen.

In my opinion, electronic books are more practical and economical. Personally, I prefer printed books because I feel more responsible and motivated to read physical books.