Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

There are varying opinions regarding the effect of competition on children’s development in schools. While some people consider that it has numerous disadvantages, others believe that competition always influences children to do well in future. However, before giving a well-reasoned conclusion, both perspectives will be briefly discussed.

There are a number of reasons why competitive attitude plays a negative role in children’s development. To start with, most children spend a large portion of their time in studies instead of playing with their friends. For instance, from early morning untill bedtime, they are pushed in academic pressure; as a result, they hardly get any time for entertainment. Moreover, due to secure top positions, they always feel extreme mental pressure with their studies. For example, they cannot relax for a single moment rather they are being pressured in doing homework after school. Last but not least, it not only creates mental pressure but also makes them physically weak. To cite an example, children do not find any time for physical activities because of excessive academic stress.

Despite these arguments, competitive environment has also a great number of merits. First of all, in today’s fast-faced world, without competing behavior, a child will suffer in the long run. For example, when a child continuously perform poorly in exams, they feel dull, and they lose their strength. What is more, if a child stay in competition mode, they become hanker after learning new things. To exemplify, generally, children are indifferent to studies, but they eagerly start learning in details because of competition environment.

In conclusion, after illustrating both sides, although moderate competitive environment is essential for the students, I believe that, if it is a excessive competition, it will definitely harmful for the students.