Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Competition amongst students in school environments is a strongly debated topic. A number of people believes that the level at which kids compete in schools is too high, therefore creating a stressful situation, while others say that it is encouraging them to excel. This essay is going to look at both perspectives of this argument. I personally believe that schools should be safe places in which to learn without judgement or competition.

The first point to consider is that for some, studying is already overwhelming enough. This means that not every child enjoys or desires to study and achieve perfect grades. Consequently, introducing a competitive culture in schools could make learning even more unpleasant. Secondly, young people are more likely to be insecure about themselves. Because of this, they doubt their qualities and abilities. Thus, becoming stressed and annoyed with their results. Comparing themselves with other students might have a negative influence with their psyche. For example, if a child gets a worse grade than his peers, he is going to feel less important or worthy. This may make them develop even more negative feelings towards learning and have the opposite effect of what competing aspires to.

On the other side, struggling and having to become tougher prepares kids for the real world and adult life. To explain this, life and situations become harder and more difficult to face after school and many may need to develop a strong character to get through them. As an example, many kids are shy or too introverted and growing up in a complicated or competing environment could make them mentally stronger and more prepared to handle stressful events.

Another point to consider is that without an incentive, many students do not even try. The reason for this is that young people have numerous different things in their minds and school is usually not their priority. So, in a competing situation they realize that without trying in the least, they might not get acceptable results.

In conclusion, opinions are divided between supporting and opposing to competitive schools. And while this may create an issue in how children approach learning, because of their stress and insecurities, this could also increase their attention to the courses and grades. In my opinion, there are better ways to help children be fonder of school and taking interest in their results without adding unnecessary anxiety in their lives at their young age.