Some people think that social media has brought people closer together, while others believe it has created more distance between individuals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, social media has become an integral part of people’s daily lives. A considerable number of individuals have a belief that social media supports those who still want to be in touch with people through internet, while other people consider it as a thing which ruins real-life relationships. This essay will discuss both views before presenting my own opinion.

On the one hand, it is believed by a large majority that social media greatly facilitates communication, particularly for those who live far away from their loved ones. Through various online platforms like WhatsApp, Instagram and many more, people can easily share messages, photos, videos, which helps them to maintain relationships despite geographical distance. Moreover, it can support those who want to build online communities such as reddit. For example, people can search for everything in forums and find solutions and even learn new things by it.

On the other hand, there are also a group of people who think online communication damages real-life bonds. While using such programs and social networking sites can be useful, it influences daily life. To clarify, it can lead to addiction and wasted time, jealousy or less face-to-face communication. Firstly, excessive reliance on these apps greatly reduces the amount of time you spend with your family and friends in real life. Secondly, it results in a huge waste of time and addiction. People compare their lives with celebrities on internet and because of this reason, jealousy starts to shine.

In conclusion, while it is argued by many that social media helps people to share thoughts from far distances, some find this idea very detrimental because of the real-life problems. I am highly convinced that having these kinds of applications and sites has a huge benefit as majority can continue to talk with their family and friends without even needing to travel long distances.