Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It should be admitted that the internet has enormously changed the way of living in recent years, However, some individuals claim that social websites are detrimental for people and society as a whole. Although there might be some unpleasant effects of this development, I believe that it generally brings about positive changes. Therefore, I only partly agree with this statement.

Admittedly, the unfavorable consequences of social platforms may affect both society and people. From a societal perspective, the development of networking websites may lead to spread rumors and misinformation about government’s actions among citizens, which may act as negatively, ending up with emergence of confusion and anxiety. This can be further demonstrated by the example of Uzbekistan, where Twitter was prohibited to use and subsequently banned due to a broad widespread of rumors against governing bodies. Such rumors and misinformation can incite public hostility towards authorities. However, thanks to an organization named Internet controller that aims to eliminate such incorrect information and rumors on platforms like Twitter and Facebook. When it comes to negative impacts that are associated with individuals. The most immediate one would be a waste of time. Typically, the algorithms of every social platform are designed to attract users and keep them engaged for as long as possible. To be more precise, people tend to unconsciously spend their time scrolling through social media platforms such as Instagram or Tiktok because these apps recommend videos that are most likely to capture users’ attention. As a consequence, people have an issue with a lack of time to perform their studies or work. Another concern is related to people’s health, specifically the potential impact on the eyesight of individuals as a result of excessive exposure to internet applications. For example, according to statistics of reports presented by ophthalmologists, the majority of eye problems occurred as a result of overspending on the phone by watching shorts of video on Instagram and Tiktok.

Notwithstanding the mentioned negative sides of networking sites, I believe that there are numerous benefits regardless of their potential drawbacks. One of which is an opportunity to get in touch with other people from any parts of the world. With the help of social platforms, people may not suffer from the emotion of longing. Such developments would help mitigate communication gaps by providing a lot of amenities for Internet users. Along with that, mobile applications such as Zoom or Skype could change the way of studying for the positive by enabling learners to attend their lessons without going to university or school, leading to save both time and money of students. Such online classes are just one advantage of social networking sites. Last but not least, it might not be case in general, however people would have an opportunity to make new friends from all parts of the globe and this would be a valuable experience, especially for introvert people who find it difficult to communicate with others in real life. It is, therefore, that possible undesirable outcomes linked with such social networks could be overlooked when it comes to thinking about their benefits.

In conclusion, despite having the negative influences of digital networks on both society and individuals, I believe that the benefits that social websites offer are more significant in the lives of people for two main reasons of making easier to keep in touch with others and enabling learners with online classes.