Some people think that students should learn a range of practical skills at school (such as car maintenance or managing money) alongside traditional subjects like maths and physics. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is argued that the school curriculum should include subjects of practical matters and skills such as money management or car maintenance should be taught as much as regular subjects such as maths or biology. I strongly support this idea and this essay will examine both positive and negative aspects of this notion.

Firstly, most people are aware of the fact that the knowledge from certain subjects such as maths or biology is not always applicable by the majority of people in the real world. Moreover, the research conducted by the Kazakh University suggests that only a small percentage of the world’s population utilizes the knowledge derived from school subjects; these people are mostly either scientists or teachers. As the result, in order to make everyday chores of their students easier the university has included practical subjects that provide knowledge on practical skills like carpenting, culinary and house maintenance in its curriculum, which resulted in significant improvements in the student attendance.

On the other hand, there is a certain number of people maintaining that school subjects provide the necessary foundation for acquiring important life skills in the long-term, and the inclusion of practical subjects may interfere with the establishing of those foundational skills. For example, the research provided by the University of Tashkent suggests that given the complexity of school subjects pupils may experience unnecessary strain on their attention span and mood if the practical subjects mentioned earlier are included in their everyday curriculum.

To conclude, although I think that the inclusion of practical of subjects in the school curriculum may prove beneficial for the students in long-run, more research should be done in order to facilitate better learning experience.