some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today's life. Others argue that the history is a valuable source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There have been many arguments over the possible impacts of history on modern society. While many people believe that information from the past has no effect on today’s generation, I would argue that it is reasonable to consider history as a vital source of knowledge for the progression of humanity.

On the one hand, it is thought that studying history is fruitless as it is merely a record of past events. Firstly, in an ever-changing world, human activities now occur in entirely different ways compared to the past. Therefore, historical data and experiences seem to play no role in decision making or predicting the future. Secondly, there is no firm evidence for the accuracy of historical information due to people’s biased judgments and lack of a data storage system. If some information about historical events were wrong, people would have an incorrect understanding of past society and culture.

On the other hand, I would side with those who think history provides people with an insight into their surroundings. In fact, history is an ongoing process in which people are approaching a better world. For that reason, valuable knowledge from the history could enable individuals to be aware of their unlimited potentials, resulting in more efforts to be made for the sustainable development of the human civilization. Besides, learning from the past could help people to avoid making regretful mistakes. For instance, If the US military had thoroughly studied Vietnam’s history of defending against foreign invasions, They would have called off the Vietnam War, which took the lives of millions of innocent people.

In conclusion, to some extent, although some arguments arise when gaining knowledge about history is likely to bring no value to the society, it seems to me that its ultimate benefits are significant.