Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think that it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while ot people think it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Technology has an impact on every aspect of our lives. In terms of crime, some people think that the technology has made a way for more and more law breakings, while other believe that it helps to prevent them. In this essay, I will discuss the opinions of both sides and finally provide my own view. On the one hand, there are number of ways how the current digital devices can help us the reduce the number of crimes. Firstly, police can trace criminals with them. In other words, police can locate their location by the scenes captured in the street cameras. In every street, there are multiple devices that can hear and record, so they can provide valuable information about the movement of criminals. For example, in UEA, the police have an access to all the cameras in streets, thus they have one of the lowest crime rates in the world. Secondly, every act on the internet leaves its footprint. Therefore, during any illegal activity, investigators begin their work by looking at the criminal’s phone and social media. By doing this, they can gather all the information about the background acts, their partners, and main purpose of this illegality. This is very helpful method to identify the head of this crime, so the police can put an end to this.

On the other hand, there are several ways that technology has fostered criminal activities. Firstly, the internet has given an opportunity to criminals to co-operate and work remotely. Therefor, although the police can identify them, it is really hard to find their location since they use very sophisticated devices that can hide their address. They usually settle at very rural places so they can hide from the law enforcements and investigators. For instance, recently a huge amount of money in local banks in Dubai got stolen by criminals. Even though the Dubai police found their identity, they could not do anything about it because criminals were located in the other edge of the world. Moreover, some individuals on the Internet try to take advantage of ordinary people in some situations. To explain, there are some aspects of technology that are very hard to be understood by people. Thus, some people who know these try to cheat the ordinary people and take their money. The most common way is that a fraudster offering an affordable service.

In conclusion, the advancements in technology can be both advantageous and disadvantageous to the criminals. However, I firmly believe that it has

more benefits for them.