Some people think that the development of technology helps to reduce crime, while other people think that it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is an ongoing debate about whether advanced technologies help reduce or encourage crime. This essay will examine both perspectives before providing my idea.

On one hand, some criminal activities can be deterred by high-tech devices, such as cameras. Speed and red light cameras, for example, can effectively discourage drivers from illegal driving behaviors by providing visual evidence to help legal proceedings. Advanced technologies not only can deter those who potentially want to commit crimes but also enhance the efficiency of investigation. It can be seen in other advanced technologies, such as artificial GPS and AI. They serve as useful tools to assist in tracking lost vehicles and analyzing offenders’ details, significantly reducing the time needed to detect offenders, which is crucial to free enforcers to reduce crime cases.

On the other hand, technological advancements offer unmatched convenience and accessibility to offenders, encouraging more criminal behavior. For instance, the internet can help hackers commit cybercrimes, easily stealing money through online bank accounts and hacking sensitive private information. Both activities can contribute significant loss to individuals and companies while hardly being precautionary. Moreover, social media platforms sometimes present sensitive information, influencing vulnerable individuals, such as teenagers, to engage in illegal activities.

In conclusion, while technologies can reduce crime by deterring and improving detection efficiency, they also bring convenience and accessibility to commit crimes. Therefore, a balanced approach, where using advanced technologies to combat offenders along with stricter government oversight and raising critical thinking ability among society can leverage the benefit of technology.