Some people think that the government should provide free education to students in university. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that university learning fees should be free for everyone, whether they had bad financial statements or not. While this can sound unfair to some people, I strongly believe that universities cannot make tuition free for all students, due to multiple reasons, such as the quality of education can decrease because of poor funding, and free tuition should only be provided to those with extremely bad financial statements.

First of all, learning institutions offering free education for everyone means that the quality of education will be harmed. This means that these universities rely mainly on the money they take from tuition fees, to improve their educational system and facilities such as books, computers, buildings, and labour salaries. Therefore, when the money they receive from students stops, the institution won’t be able to provide a decent experience for them. To exemplify, as can be seen nowadays, private universities that require learning fees are much more developed compared to public universities that are free. As a result, many people go to private schools to ensure that they will have a great, comfortable experience in their college life.

Secondly, free tuition should only be offered to people with bad financial statements because education is necessary for everyone in the community. The government can sometimes not realize the ability of those ambitious and ingenious young people out there, who cannot afford the fees. However, providing free tuition and giving these people a chance, may be government’s greatest investment, because of how much potential those poor people can have, and how they can raise the economy and community by giving them the right education.

To recapitulate, while some argue that there must be no learning fees for everyone, regardless of their financial background. I believe that universities cannot make it free for all students due to the fact that it will negatively affect the quality of the education presented. However, the government should invest in the ability of poor people and give them free tuition.