Some people think that the government should provide free education to students in university. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s era, education is an aspect of vital importance – a key factor leading to future success for every individual. One school of thought holds the idea that since education is considered as a basic right, it should be provided free of charge, irrespective of the student’s economic status. From my vantage point, I somehow disagree with this belief, despite acknowledging the benefits which it might confer.

Admittedly, the reality is harsh with existing social disparities: while tuition fee seems to have nothing to do with the rich, it can be a real deterrent to those who are less affluent. Consequently, the idea of free education sounds more tempting than ever, as it provides a kind of reassurance for the poor, motivating them to continue pursuing their future goals, which feels like a true utopia. Nevertheless, this line of reasoning has overlooked a critical factor: the institution’s income. It is similar to stating that: “Since eating is also a basic need, all foods should be sold with no cost.” which indeed sounds impulsive. Without educational expenses, most schools are unable to pay for their teachers and workers, which will undoubtedly worsen their teaching qualities. Advocates of this approach might argue that national governments can afford all, but this is not the optimal case for every country. The government’s fund is unlikely to suffice to support these expenses, as there are still numerous aspects that need improving on, such as city infrastructures or healthcare, especially in developing countries like Vietnam, where the quality of public services and welfare is not fully perfect yet.

On the other hand, the argument in favor of tuition fees continuing to exist is further strengthened by the fact that there are now multiple types of school, from public to private and international teaching institutions with different learning environments. Depending on the child’s own aspirations, future goals, and family’s wealth, there will be a suitable amount of admission fees for them. Additionally, a number of scholarships are still applied throughout the world, from local high schools to prestigious universities like Harvard or MIT, including need-based ones, merit-based ones, or full tuition fees with living allowance, to name but a few. The more you prove your ability to the school’s admission office, regardless of whichever fields from academic to non-academic, the more you receive deserved support from them. For instance, in some European countries like Germany, the educational fee is free of charge as long as you are able to study in their native language.

In summary, while there are still justifications for a free education, I would still contend that this is not the best approach for all countries. Rather, I advocate for specific educational policies that support truly talented and deserving individuals who are able to contribute to society in the future ahead.