Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has a negative effect on (có ảnh hưởng tiêu cực) young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that young people’s reading and writing skills have been affected negatively by the increasing utilization of computers and mobile phones for communication. Personally, I partly agree with this view

There are two main reasons why the growing use of technology devices for communication does not affect negatively to young people’s reading and writing skills. Firstly, the young can use their technology gadgets to access the internet to find the information they need, so to do it smoothly, they must have some reading and writing skills on technology devices. Therefore, it will be a new way to improve young people’s reading and writing skills. For example, when the young need to search for something, they need to type the information on the screen or when they want to learn about something on the internet, they have to read it carefully. Thanks to the great evolution of technology, there are many online chatting apps such as messenger, zalo,…, which provide a special extension like recommending keywords, and storage messages,… All of them will help consumers write more easily.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believe that the rising use of technology devices for communication effects negatively the reading and writing skills of young people. One reason is the excessive use of slang and “teen code” which leads to misspellings and misunderstandings when interacting in real life. Furthermore over-dependence on AI technology leads to less frequency of reading, which also decreases their reading skill. Moreover, over-reliance on technology devices may cause the loss of surrounding relationships because it leads to a downward trend in face-to-face communication.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication may affect flexibility due to the purpose of young people.