Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

It is frequently said that after arriving to a new place, an individual should adjust to its native culture. Personally, I disagree with this statement due to the reasons such as the concept of different ideolgy or norms and religions. This essay will provide proper arguments in order to support its disagreement.

First of all, it is vital for tourists to respect local traditions of new places because they contain history of their nations and everyday habits, playing a valuable role for native inhabitants. However, it is not neccessary for people from overseas to adapt under regional customs as they may find it unusual. Practices of inhabitants can be against norms or ideologies of tourists as well. Accordingly, it will be difficult for them to adjust. For instance, millions of people from Asia and Middle Asia find it hard to do greetings in Europe, especially in France, where people perform chin-kiss greetings when they meet each other. Moreover, this type of interactions are unacceptable among not only men, but women as well, as they believe that the greetings is too interactive. Therefore, I belive that public’s shaping under cultures is valid, though they should not force themselves to oppose their values.

Furthermore, all the civilizations are unique, demonstrating different practises and customs,while their ways of life can be opposition to a number of religions. Correspondingly, public from abroad may find certains actions of local citizens averse to their religions, showing worse adaptation about their activities. For example, nations of slavic origins are rich with their cultural activites and concepts of their cousine. Nevertheless, the slavic cousine contains pork dishes, which is not allowed for muslims to consume by the rules of Islam. Consequently, I disagree with the statement because for some people it would be very difficult to adapt under other cultural ideas.

In conclusion, travellers should respect traditional habits of other regions and they are allowed to join or perform new cultures, however, they should not impose themselves or do opposed actions about their ideas or religion.