Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether people can speak fluently without staying or doing a job in that nation or not. A group of people believe that it is not possible to speak a language swiftly without spending a life in that country. However, other people disagree with this. I largely disagree with the formal opinion that I explain in the following paragraphs.

To embark with, I disagree with a statement that one cannot become fluent without going to a country. This is because it is true that doing a daily practice can make an individual fluent in any language. People have to give a minimum of one or two hours per day to speak in a language that helps them to speak in a flow. What is more, one can become native speaker if he has enough knowledge regarding grammar and vocabulary of a language.

Furthermore, there is no need to migrate to another country to learn a local language because everyone has the acess of the internet at present time. There are a lot of videos available on the internet through which people can learn a language. Take an example of the French language. Many podcasts are available in the French language and by watching that audiovisual people can learn it effectively. Moreover, in many cities various coaching classes are available where languages are taught. So, people can also join it to learn a language.

In contrast, some people suggest that it is difficult to speak flawlessly without going there. They claim that people need an environment which fosters them to speak in a particular language. If someone is in Japan and local people do not know other languages, he does not have any other option to speak in a different language. Therefore, he needs to speak Japanese and eventually it leads to the creation of a fluent speaker within a short period of time.

In conclusion, routine practice along with knowledge of grammar and vocabulary and the accessibility of internet can make a person fluent in a language. However, the culture of people only speaks in local language makes others fluent in it promptly.