Some people think the government should provide free housing, while others believe it is not the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary times, some would argue that housing should be provided by governments to the people without any costs, while others believe that they should not held accountable for free housing provisions. I strongly believe in the notion that free housing schemes by certain authorities within a country should not be be made available.

Firstly, providing houses for free will have an profound impact to a countries economic budget due the costs of building materials and labor costs. In times of inflation, these costs could rise and could affect the initial budget, prompting authorities to provide more funding from the countries budget which should be allocated to important sectors such as healthcare. In China, for example, free housing incentives had impacted the country economy significantly due to inflation. Project completion timelines had to be re-projected, consequently causing thousands of citizens to be placed in temporary homes.

Furthermore, people should be responsible for purchasing their home because they will have the freedom in choosing locations to live as oppose to being forced to live in unpreferred neighborhood. For instance, the Malaysian government built free houses for people from lower economic groups. This nice gesture however was dealt by public scrutiny because the project was situated far from the main city area which residents find challenging to commute to work.

In conclusion, I strongly do not believe that houses should be made free to the public as there are social and economic impact. Moreover, people should be held responsible for purchasing their own home as this provides them their rights to choose areas which they find convenient.