Some people think watching TV is bad for children in every way. Others think it is good for developing children as they grow up. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views on whether watching television is harmful to children’s development or if it positively influences their lives. While spending time watching television presents certain drawbacks for children associated with overall well-being, I believe it does more good than harm in terms of public awareness.

Critics of watching TV cite various reasons to support their stance. When young people spend their time watching television, they will likely become disconnected from their surroundings, including family members, peers, and friends, as their lives shift from engaging in family bonding activities and school curricula to pursuing a sedentary and isolated lifestyle. This can ultimately not only negatively impact children’s relationships but also intensify their debilitating feelings of isolation and marginalization, thereby putting their overall well-being in jeopardy. In a world where most children already struggle with family conflicts and weak relationships with their surroundings, avoiding television takes on added significance in preventing the further perpetuation of these situations.

However, I believe the advantages of watching television are significant. If children spend their time watching television, they have the opportunity to absorb valuable and fundamental insights because most TV programs and broadcasts cover a wide range of topics, such as global warming, political and societal issues, healthcare discoveries, and educational news. As a result, this can help children improve their public awareness, thereby broadening their horizons. This is especially beneficial for parents who find it increasingly challenging to encourage their children to learn more; watching television efficiently and appropriately can make a big difference in cognitive improvement.

In conclusion, while watching television poses some challenges for young people regarding overall well-being, I believe spending time in front of the television provides more benefits in terms of public awareness.